Hôtel de Vendôme
History of the Vendôme
The Hôtel de Vendôme located at No.1 Place Vendôme was built in 1723 by Armand-Claude Mollet (architect of the Palais de l'Élysée) for Pierre Perrin, secretary of Le Roi Soleil. This mansion was a private residence, administrative headquarters and, in 1842, embassy of the young republic of Texas, whose independence France was the first to recognise.
The Hôtel de Vendôme was named after its location: the former mansion of the Duke of Vendôme, which was bought in 1685 by Louis XIV to build the place Vendôme1. The façades and roof are classed as historical monuments under the name "Hôtel Bataille de Francès."
More information is available on Wikipedia.
The square is named from the fact that n°1 was the site of the former Vendôme family residence.
Three centuries of art, culture and elegance make it a unique address in Paris.
Today the place Vendôme is the temple of Parisian jewellery, and gives onto Paris’s most brilliant quartier, with its haute couture, antique dealers, art galleries, the Opera and the Louvre museum.
The Hotel de Vendôme is thus a unique jewel, on a par with all the precious stones in the vicinity.